Weekly Photo Challenge-Reflection

So here I sit 10 minutes to midnight.  I’m the only person awake in my house.  I’m supposed to be editing some images for a local Motorcycle shop’s website, but I’m distracted.  I’m thinking about my life, the life of my family.  It’s been 5 years today (well for the next 10 minutes, today), that life as I knew changed.  

Now I did have a plan to produce an image for this weeks challenge.  But I’ve been wandering around my house tonight, thinking!  Ya, I know maybe a little sappy, but well it is my daughters birthday!  Yes she is Daddy’s little girl!  Why have I been wandering, well my house is filled with photo’s.  I’ve been Thinking of the last 5 years and how things have changed, and what things have happened, and how she has grown, and how me and my wife have grown.  

Now I don’t pretend to be the perfect father, I try, but yes I get grumpy and stressed from time to time, (I’m sure my wife could tell you some stories).  But when I look at my Little Monkey, I just want to be better, a better dad, a better husband, a better person.  Everyday I see her change, grow, wonder….  I’m in awe!

I love what I do, but nothing will ever compare to coming home and seeing her smile at me!  Happy Birthday Monkey!

Okay, let me pull back the sappy stuff for just a sec and come back to photography, as I’m wandering looking at my pictures, I can to realize that we have not 1 actual family portrait up.  And it struck me, why I love photography so much.  (not really a revolution to me, just a renewed sense of why I do what I do)  Now follow me a little here.  I shoot family portraits and I think they are important, and yes we do actually have them.  But at the end of the day I’m a Henri Cartier-Bresson type of photographer and personality.  It’s about capturing the Moment!

Every photo we have up is a moment in time, one that I can never get back or change.  But one I can always remember simply by looking at the picture.  In a short walk around my house I went from my wife and I dating to our wedding, from my daughters birth to now her 5th birthday now loaded in my camera.
Yes we take pictures, for advertising, for documenting, for web sites. Yes all that is important. But we must never forget about the moments important to our lives! I can always retake a portrait, but I can never relive the proud smile of my daughter learning to ride her bike or the moment ……..

It’s 12:18am now, she is 5 years and 1 day old…

Here hoping your home is filled with moments, I know mine will always be!

Image

5 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge-Reflection

  1. really beautiful photo – and nice reflecting! 🙂 I also liked the contrast of the old leaves (on the ground) and the bright green (chlorophyl -filled) ones still on the tree.
    and loved this:

    “I can always retake a portrait, but I can never relive the proud smile of my daughter learning to ride her bike or the moment ……..”

    Like

  2. What a lovely post and what a nice dad you must be. My dad was absolutely the most important and influential person in my life. You should print this post and give it to her on her 21st birthday. I’m sure she’ll agree you met every one of your personal fatherhood goals!

    Like

Leave a Reply

